Ministry of Shipping India Departments List and Contact Information

Ministry of Shipping India Departments List and Contact Information:

Ministry of Shipping India

The Ministry of Shipping Government of India is the apex body for formulation and administration of the rules and regulations and laws relating to Shipping.

Nitin Jairam Gadkari is the present Honourable Minister of Ministry of Shipping Government of India.

Here we had provided the latest information regarding the list of Departments of Ministry of Shipping Government of India with all the details.


  • Ministry of Shipping

Ministry of Shipping Attached & Subordinate Offices

Attached Offices

  • Mercantile Marine Department (MMD), Chennai
  • Mercantile Marine Department (MMD), Mumbai

Subordinate Offices

  • Andaman Lakshadweep Harbour Works (ALHW)
  • Directorate General of Shipping
  • Seamens Provident Fund Organisation

Ministry of Shipping Directorates

  • Directorate General of Lighthouses and Lightships
  • Directorate General of Shipping, Mumbai

Ministry of Shipping Divisions / Units / Wings

  • Indian Ocean Memorandum of Understanding, Goa

Ministry of Shipping Autonomous Bodies, Boards & Corporations

Autonomous Bodies

  • Chennai Port Trust
  • Cochin Port Trust
  • Howrah Bridge (Rabindra Setu), Kolkata
  • Inland Waterways Authority of India (IWAI)
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust
  • Kandla Port Trust
  • Kolkata Port Trust
  • Marine Engineering and Research Institute (MERI), Kolkata
  • Mormugao Port Trust
  • Mumbai Port Trust
  • New Mangalore Port Trust
  • Paradip Port Trust
  • Port Health Organisation, Visakhapatnam
  • Tariff Authority for Major Ports (TAMP)
  • Tuticorin Port Trust
  • Visakhapatnam Port Trust (VPT)

Boards / Undertakings

  • Haldia Dock Complex
  • National Shipping Board, New Delhi
  • Sethusamudram Corporation Limited


  • Indian Ports Association

Ministry of Shipping Academies / Institutions (Grant in Aid)

  • Central Institute of Fisheries Nautical and Engineering Training
  • Indian Maritime University
  • Marine Engineering and Research Institute (MERI), Mumbai

Ministry of Shipping PSUs / Joint Ventures

  • Central Inland Water Transport Corporation Limited (CIWTC)
  • Cochin Shipyard Limited
  • Dredging Corporation of India, Visakhapatnam
  • Ennore Port Limited
  • Hindustan Shipyard Limited
  • Hooghly Dock and Port Engineers Limited (HDPEL)
  • Shipping Corporation of India Limited (SCI)

Ministry of Shipping Statutory Bodies, Commissions & Councils

  • Port Community System (PCS), Indian Port Association (IPA)